Buju Banton's Long Walk To Freedom Tour at Reggae Geel

17 April 2019

Mark Anthony Myrie, aka Buju Banton, has probably been the most controversial reggae artist of the last decade. No less than 40,000 reggae fans from all over the world came to witness his first Long Walk to Freedom show at the National Stadium in Jamaica. Because after 8 years and 7 months, Buju would finally do a live performance again. Stronger as ever before!

The Jamaican reggae dancehall legend has been gone from the reggae scene for awhile – at least physically speaking... In 2009, namely, Buju Banton was arrested for alleged drug and arms possession. And even though he pleaded not guilty to any of these charges, Buju took responsibility and decided to do his time anyway. At a special moment in 2011, when, after 7 months in custody, he was granted permission to appear before his fans in Miami one last time (well, for the time being), he spoke these inspiring words: “Be strong. Hold a firm meditation. One day things must get better.”

Shortly after, his most recent album, Before the Dawn, won a Grammy for Best Reggae Album in 2011. Famous stars such as Rihanna, DJ Khaled, Gramps Morgan, Tarrus Riley and many more supported the Free Buju campaign. Artists both from inside and outside of the reggae-societies had been looking forward to work with him. And finally, at the end of 2018, the great moment was there: Buju Banton was set free...

And now... we, at Reggae Geel, are proud to welcome him to our festival for the very first time! No doubt he’ll share his captivating story with us on the stage...

Buju Banton's Long Walk To Freedom Tour at Reggae Geel

17 avril 2019

Mark Anthony Myrie, mieux connu sous le nom de Buju Banton, est probablement l’artiste reggae qui a le plus fait parler de lui ces dernières années. Le premier concert de sa tournée Long Walk to Freedom a rassemblé 40.000 fans du monde entier pour une grande soirée au Stade national de Jamaïque. Après 8 ans et 7 mois, Buju était de retour sur scène. Et plus fort encore qu’il ne l’a jamais été.

Cette légende jamaïcaine du reggae-dancehall a été pendant longtemps physiquement absent de la scène. En effet, il a été arrêté en 2009 aux Etats Unis pour des faits liés à la drogue et aux armes. Bien que son avocat ait toujours plaidé l’innocence de son client, Buju Banton s’est vu obligé de passer toutes ces années derrière les barreaux. En 2011, après 7 mois d’incarcération, il a eu l’occasion de vivre un court répit avec une permission qui lui a permis d’apparaître une dernière fois sur scène devant ses fans à Miami, avec ce message : “Be strong. Hold a firm meditation. One day things must get better”. Voilà le message inspirant qu’il a communiqué ce jour-là.

Son album le plus recent, Before the Dawn, a même reçu un Grammy Award en 2011, quelques mois après l’incarcération de Buju. De nombreux artistes ont soutenu la campagne Free Buju, dont Rihanna, DJ Khaled, Gramps Morgan, Tarrus Riley et bien d’autres. Fin 2018 finalement, le moment était venu. Sa libération est devenue réalité.

Et donc, à Reggae Geel, nous pouvons fièrement annoncer que nous allons l’accueillir pour la toute première fois dans notre festival. Il pourra certainement nous partager son histoire passionnante avec nous.